Book Reviews

Special A.C.E. Stories

Online Paper (PDF)

Bids & Public Notices

NW Job Market


Special Sections

Asian Reporter Info

About Us

Advertising Info.

Contact Us
Subscription Info. & Back Issues



Currency Exchange

Time Zones
More Asian Links

Copyright © 1990 - 2019
AR Home


Where EAST meets the Northwest

AMAZING EIGHT. The co-champions of the 2019 Scripps National Spelling Bee — from left, Sohum Sukhatankar, 13, of Dallas, Texas; Abhijay Kodali, 12, of Flower Mound, Texas; Rohan Raja, 13, of Irving, Texas; Saketh Sundar, 13, of Clarksville, Maryland; Christopher Serrao, 13, of Whitehouse Station, N.J.; Rishik Gandhasri, 13, of San Jose, California; Erin Howard, 14, of Huntsville, Alabama; and Shruthika Padhy, 13, of Cherry Hill, N.J. — celebrate in Oxon Hill, Maryland, on Friday, May 31, 2019. (AP Photo/Susan Walsh)

From The Asian Reporter, V29, #11 (June 3, 2019), pages 9 & 16.

Eight are great: National Spelling Bee ends with "octo-champs"

By Ben Nuckols
The Associated Press

OXON HILL, Md. — The Scripps National Spelling Bee was broken in late May, brought to its knees by eight spellers who were too poised, too prepared, and too savvy for any word thrown their way.

Faced with a dwindling word list and a group of spellers that showed no weakness, Scripps gave up and declared them co-champions, the most extraordinary ending in the 94-year history of the competition.

The eight co-champions spelled the final 47 words correctly in their historic walk-off victory, going through five consecutive perfect rounds.

"Champion spellers, we are now in uncharted territory," bee pronouncer Jacques Bailly told them in announcing the decision to allow up to eight winners. "We do have plenty of words remaining on our list. But we will soon run out of words that will possibly challenge you, the most phenomenal collection of super spellers in the history of this competition."

He wasn’t lying. The bee held three more rounds after that, and no one missed a word or even appeared to struggle.

The winners, who dubbed themselves "octo-champs," were: Rishik Gandhasri, Erin Howard, Saketh Sundar, Shruthika Padhy, Sohum Sukhatankar, Abhijay Kodali, Christopher Serrao, and Rohan Raja.

From 2014 to 2016, the bee ended with co-champions. In 2017 and last year, the bee had a written tiebreaker test of spelling and vocabulary that would be used to identify a single champion if necessary. It didn’t turn out to be needed, and bee officials decided the test was too burdensome and got rid of it.

Read the current issue of The Asian Reporter in its entirety!
Just visit <>!