INSIDE:

NEWS/STORIES/ARTICLES
Book Reviews
Columns/Opinion/Cartoon
Films
International
National

NW/Local
Recipes
Special A.C.E. Stories

Sports
Online Paper (PDF)

CLASSIFIED SECTION
Bids & Public Notices

NW Job Market

NW RESOURCE GUIDE

Consulates
Organizations
Scholarships
Special Sections

Upcoming

The Asian Reporter 20th Annual Scholarship & Awards Banquet -
Thursday, April, 2018 

Asian Reporter Info

About Us

Advertising Info.

Contact Us
Subscription Info. & Back Issues

 

 

ASIA LINKS
Currency Exchange

Time Zones
More Asian Links

Copyright © 1990 - 2017
AR Home

 


Where EAST meets the Northwest

Great American Eclipse on August 21st, 2017

The Exploratorium, a leading science learning laboratory and museum in San Francisco, is producing five live feeds of the Great American Eclipse on August 21st, 2017.

The feeds will be available via Satellite, the Switch, and by downloading the Total Solar Eclipse App or visiting the Exploratorium’s Eclipse Web Page and will consist of:

1. A telescope feed from Casper, Wyoming;
2. A telescope feed from Madras, Oregon;
3. A one-hour English language educational eclipse program with scientific explanations by Exploratorium and NASA scientists;
4. A one-hour Spanish language educational eclipse program with scientific explanations by Exploratorium scientists;
5.
Live performance by Kronos Quartet and eclipse sonification from San Francisco.

Screen Shot 2017-08-14 at 12.53.29 PM

total solar eclipse app

The Total Solar Eclipse App, produced by the renowned Exploratorium in San Francisco, includes an interactive map, safe-viewing techniques, and the ability to view the eclipse live from internet-connected phones and tablets. The app also enables users to move seamlessly between the Exploratorium’s five live streams of the eclipse, which include direct telescope feeds from Wyoming and Oregon, English and Spanish programs featuring scientists from the Exploratorium and NASA, and a sonification of the eclipse with a live performance by Kronos Quartet at the Exploratorium’s home on the San Francisco waterfront. In “social mode,” users can engage with communities via social media using preloaded hashtags even while viewing live and recorded eclipse videos. The release of the app is part of the Exploratorium’s large-scale education initiative, supported by NASA, around the coming total solar eclipse on August 21, 2017.

eclipse programming at the exploratorium in san francisco

From San Francisco, the moon will only partly cover the Sun—a partial eclipse—but the Exploratorium will open early at 9:00 AM and will have telescopes and solar safety glasses on our Plaza for viewing, and astronomers from NASA Ames and The Planetary Society available to answer questions. Visitors will have an opportunity to learn about solar eclipses and observe a partial solar eclipse outside on the Exploratorium’s Plaza, but they’ll also be able to head inside to watch the Exploratorium’s live programming of the Eclipse from Casper, WY and Madras, OR on large screens that will be set up throughout the museum. Last, though the tickets have already sold out, the Exploratorium is hosting Kronos Quartet for an eclipse sonification and musical performance by the world-famous musicians.

5 LIVE FEEDS: DETAILS AND ACCESS INFORMATION

telescope views from oregon: mos | 2.75 hours beginning at 16:00 utc / 9:00 am pdt

Start: 16:00UT, 9:00am PDT, 10:00am MDT, 12:00pm EDT ||  End: 18:45UT, 11:45am PDT, 12:45pm MDT, 2:45pm EDT || 1st contact at 16:06, totality at 17:19, 4th contact at 18:41
 

  • Live MOS (soundless) feed of the eclipse from 4 telescopes on the ground in Madras, Oregon
  • 4 Telescopes include: white light and Hydrogen-Alpha filters; full-disc and quarter-disc
  • Uses: television news programs; showing on public monitors; embedding in your website; ‘capturing’ to post on social media
  • Available on Galaxy 3 Satellite and by embedding

telescope views from wyoming: mos | 3 hours beginning at 16:15 utc / 9:15 pdt
Start: 16:15UT, 9:15am PDT, 10:15am MDT, 12:15pm EDT ||  End: 19:15UT, 12:45am PDT, 1:15pm MDT, 3:15pm EDT || 1st contact at 16:22, totality at 17:42, 4th contact at 19:09
 

  • Live MOS (soundless) feed of the eclipse from 4 telescopes on the ground in Madras, Oregon
  • 4 Telescopes include: white light and Hydrogen-Alpha filters; full-disc and quarter-disc
  • Uses: television news programs; showing on public monitors; embedding in your website; ‘capturing’ to post on social media

1-hour english language educational program (based in oregon, featuring wyoming)

Start:  17:00 UT, 10:00 PDT, 11:00am MDT, 1:00pm EDT // End:  18:00 UT, 11:00 PDT, 12:00 MDT, 2:00pm EDT 

  • Featuring interviews with eclipse chasers, Exploratorium and NASA Scientists, and totality from two locations
  • General information about the eclipse, path of totality, and safe-viewing techniques
  • Explore NASA's upcoming Solar Probe Plus mission with NASA scientist Dr. Eric Christian
  • Hosts: NASA Education Specialist, Dr. Hakeem Oluseyi and Exploratorium’s Dr. Rob Semper
  • High-dynamic-range live eclipse video streams from four telescopes at each location
  • Uses: viewing in schools and community eclipse events, eclipse parties, online viewers wanting to learn about eclipses while seeing live views of eclipse from telescope feeds


1-hour spanish language educational program (based in oregon, featuring wyoming)

Start:  17:00 UT, 10:00 PDT, 11:00am MDT, 1:00pm EDT // End:  18:00 UT, 11:00 PDT, 12:00 MDT, 2:00pm EDT 

  • Featuring interviews with eclipse chasers, Exploratorium and NASA Scientists, and totality from two locations
  • Hosts: Bay Area Univision Host and Emmy Award winner, Kira Vilanova, and Dr. Isabel Hawkins providing informal commentary about the eclipse, path of totality, and safe-viewing techniques
  • NASA's upcoming Solar Probe Plus mission with Dr. Eric Christian
  • High-dynamic-range live eclipse video streams from four telescopes at each location
  • Uses: Spanish-speaking audiences viewing in schools and community eclipse events, eclipse parties, online viewers wanting to learn about eclipses while seeing live views of eclipse from telescope feeds  

3-HOUR SONIFICATION WITH 30-MINUTE KRONOS QUARTET PERFORMANCE (BASED IN SAN FRANCISCO) 

  • Video feed: same as telescope views from wyoming
  • In addition to the sonification, in the 30-mins surrounding totality, the Kronos Quartet will be adding a live musical score.
  • Live video is converted into raw data, which is then converted into sound. This computer-created ‘sonification’ will be the audio track for this feed
  • A video explaining the process of sonification: Making Music from a Solar Eclipse
  • Uses: Embedding in a website, ‘Capturing’ to post on social media,
  • More information on the process and score is here: http://waynegrim.com/sonification-of-the-total-solar-eclipse-august-2017

 

 

Read the current issue of The Asian Reporter in its entirety!
Go to <www.asianreporter.com/completepaper.htm>!